Skip to main content

The best
combination ladders
for survey work

One ladder that steps, extends and stands on a staircase instead of three separate ones in the van. Useful when it genuinely does all three; a marketing exercise when the extra modes are the same shape counted twice. Here is what the ‘X in 1’ numbers actually mean, and seven combination ladders worth buying.

Published 18 September 2026 Reading time · 11 min By Dominic Bowkett · MRPSA
Reader-supported. This guide contains Amazon affiliate links — if you buy through them the practice earns a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Every recommendation here is on merit; nobody pays for placement. I haven’t lab-tested these units myself — this is a features overview drawn from manufacturers’ specifications and published user feedback, filtered through what actually matters on a survey.

I already wrote up the telescopic ladder that comes into every house I survey and the step ladder that handles quick indoor jobs. A combination ladder sits between the two: a self-employed trade, a first-home landlord or anyone without a garage full of access kit doesn’t want a third ladder just for a stairwell with no square landing to stand a normal ladder on. One ladder that steps, extends and adjusts to a staircase covers most of what a household or small job actually needs.

The honest trade-off is versatility against purpose-built rigidity. A combination ladder has more hinges and locking pins than a dedicated telescopic or step ladder, because it folds into several shapes rather than one. Every joint has to lock correctly before you climb, and every one adds a little flex a single-purpose ladder doesn’t have. That isn’t a reason to avoid the category — it’s a reason to be clear-eyed about what “5 in 1” is actually buying you.

It’s also a category with a genuine oddity worth knowing before you shop: two ladders here are, as far as the published specifications go, the same physical product under two brand names at two prices. First, the one I’d buy.

The one I’d buy

Werner 7101518 5 in 1 Combination Ladder with Platform

Werner 7101518 5 in 1 Combination Ladder with Platform

Five genuinely different configurations, not padded marketing: stepladder, extension ladder, stairwell ladder, a level work platform and a stairwell platform for standing over the stairs themselves rather than balancing on a rung. At 16.8kg it’s the heaviest ladder here, which is the honest price of the platform section, but it also turns a stairwell repaint or smoke alarm check from an awkward balancing act into something you can stand on properly.

Typically £130–£160

Check price on Amazon

How I judge a combination ladder

Genuine configurations, not a marketing count. “3 in 1” on a straightforward combi ladder usually means stepladder, extension and stairwell — three real, different shapes. By the time a listing claims 5 or 6, check what has actually been added: a stairwell platform or a freestanding extension mode is a real extra capability; the same stepladder counted once as “stepladder” and once as “A-frame” is the same mode twice.

EN131 Professional certification and the 150kg benchmark. As with the telescopic and step ladder guides, this is the baseline separating trade-rated kit from occasional-use DIY equipment: 150kg rated, tested for repeated cycling rather than the odd weekend job. A ladder stating only a lower kg figure and no EN131 class — there is one further down this list — is telling you plainly what tier it belongs to.

The stairwell mode specifically. The actual reason to buy a combination ladder rather than two dedicated ones: an adjustable leg or staggered-rung mechanism that lets one stile sit lower on a step below while the other stands on the landing above, levelling the ladder on a staircase. Check it is a genuine sliding adjustment rather than just “can be leant against the wall of a stairwell,” which any ladder can technically do, badly.

Weight and joint count, honestly. Every extra mode is another hinge, another locking pin, another few hundred grams. A 5-in-1 ladder with a platform section will always flex more than a dedicated 3-way, which will in turn flex more than a purpose-built telescopic ladder of the same reach. That is the price of versatility, worth weighing against how often you’d actually use the extra modes.

Same ladder, different badge, different price. Manufacturers who own more than one ladder brand sometimes sell an identical design under both names at different prices. Werner owns Abru in the UK, and two of the picks below share published working heights, weight and product photography down to the pixel. Knowing this before you shop can save real money.

The comparison

ModelModesWeightEN131 classTypical priceBest for
Werner 7101518 5-in-15 (+platform)16.8kgNot stated on listing~£145Stairwell work needing a real platformView
Werner 2101418 4-in-14 (+freestanding)9.8kgProfessional~£112Extension work with nothing to lean againstView
Werner 7101318 3-in-136.2kgProfessional~£115Best-documented working heightsView
Abru 2101318 3-in-136kgProfessional~£82Budget pick — same ladder, cheaper badgeView
Sterk Systems 3-Way35.95kgEN131, GS certified~£85Lightest and most compact hereView
Youngman Combi 100 2.4m4Not statedProfessional~£75Compact trade-brand alternativeView
BPS 3 Way38kgNot stated — 95kg rating only~£80Cheapest — light DIY onlyView

The picks in detail

01

Werner 7101518 5 in 1 Combination Ladder with Platform

Werner 7101518 5 in 1 Combination Ladder with Platform

Best overall — the only one here with a genuine stairwell platform

This is the top pick above. The stairwell platform is the mode that earns it the top spot: a flat, level standing area you can position over a flight of stairs, rather than perching on a rung at an angle. Werner’s own listing doesn’t quote an EN131 class for this specific model — unusual for a WernerCo product, and worth knowing rather than assuming, since every other Werner ladder in this guide states one plainly. A sturdy locking bar, a self-locking catch to stop sections separating, and a 25-year manufacturer warranty all point to a serious piece of kit regardless.

For

  • Only ladder here with a genuine stairwell platform mode
  • Five distinct configurations, not padded marketing
  • 25-year manufacturer warranty from WernerCo

Against

  • Heaviest ladder in this guide at 16.8kg
  • No EN131 class stated on the listing itself

Typically £130–£160

Check price on Amazon
02

Werner 2101418 4 in 1 Combination Ladder

Werner 2101418 4 in 1 Combination Ladder

Best for extension work with nothing to lean against

The genuine fourth mode is a freestanding extension configuration — useful when there is no wall, gable end or fascia to lean a normal extension ladder against, which happens more often than you’d think around porches and outbuildings. Worth flagging: Amazon lists the brand on this listing as ABRU even though the title reads Werner. Werner owns Abru in the UK, both are manufactured by WernerCo, and at 9.8kg this sits comfortably between the 3-in-1 and the 5-in-1 platform ladder above.

For

  • Freestanding extension mode for jobs with nothing to lean against
  • EN131 approved for professional use
  • Lighter than the 5-in-1 platform ladder at 9.8kg

Against

  • Listing brand shows as Abru despite Werner-titled product
  • No stairwell platform — just the stairwell ladder mode

Typically £100–£125

Check price on Amazon
03

Werner 7101318 3 in 1 Aluminium Combination Ladder

Werner 7101318 3 in 1 Aluminium Combination Ladder

The best-documented ladder here — every working height published

This is the one to point at if you want to know exactly what you’re buying before it arrives: stairway mode gives a 3.02m safe working height with a 1.27m max standing height, extension mode 3.27m and 1.52m, stepladder mode 2.73m and 0.98m, on a 0.8m stabiliser width. That level of published detail is rare in this category. Approved to the latest EN131 standard for professional use, box-section stiles, slip-resistant square rungs.

For

  • Every working height published for all three modes
  • EN131 approved for professional use
  • Box-section stiles for rigidity at 6.2kg

Against

  • The identical ladder is sold cheaper under the Abru badge (pick 04)
  • No freestanding extension or platform mode

Typically £105–£125

Check price on Amazon
04

Abru 2101318 3 in 1 Combination Ladder

Abru 2101318 3 in 1 Combination Ladder

Best on a budget — the same ladder as pick 03, for less

The genuine duplication mentioned above: Abru’s 2101318 publishes the exact same working heights as Werner’s 7101318 — 3.02m stairway, 3.27m extension, 2.73m stepladder, to the centimetre — is manufactured by the same WernerCo, and the product photography on both listings is identical. Abru is Werner’s own sister brand in the UK, not a knock-off, which is exactly why this is a legitimate way to pay less for the same ladder rather than a compromise.

For

  • Identical published specification to the pricier Werner 7101318
  • EN131 standard, for professional and non-professional use
  • Genuine WernerCo manufacture, not an unrelated budget copy

Against

  • Abru branding may read as less premium than Werner to some buyers
  • Same limitations as pick 03 — no freestanding or platform mode

Typically £75–£90

Check price on Amazon
05

Sterk Systems Combination Step Ladder 3 Way

Sterk Systems Combination Step Ladder 3 Way

The lightest and most compact ladder here

At 5.95kg this is the lightest ladder in the guide, and genuinely a different size class to the Werner and Abru units above: a smaller stepladder-and-extension unit rather than a full-reach trade combi. EN131 and GS certified with a stated 150kg load capacity, non-slip square rungs and rubber feet. The right choice when the job is genuinely light — a smoke alarm, a stairwell picture rail, a first-home tool kit — and the extra reach of the Werner-family ladders above would just be dead weight to carry.

For

  • Lightest ladder here at 5.95kg
  • EN131 and GS certified, 150kg rated
  • Genuinely compact for storage in a flat or small van

Against

  • Smaller reach than the Werner-family ladders above
  • Less established brand than Werner or Youngman

Typically £75–£95

Check price on Amazon
06

Youngman Combi 100 2.4m Combination Ladder

Youngman Combi 100 2.4m Combination Ladder

Best compact trade-brand alternative to the Werner family

Youngman’s Combi 100 range is a proper trade line, not a rebadge, and this 2.4m closed-length model covers stepladder, freestanding extension, stairwell and extension modes — four real configurations, approved to the latest EN131 standard for professional use at a stated 150kg load capacity. Robust box-section alloy stiles and thumb-operated locking catches that stop sections separating in use or transport. It’s the most compact ladder here after the Sterk, which matters if boot space or a narrow hallway is the constraint.

For

  • Genuine Youngman trade manufacture, EN131 professional
  • Four real configurations including freestanding extension
  • Compact 2.4m closed length

Against

  • Weight isn’t published on the listing
  • Some Amazon listings for this range bundle several length variants under one product page — check the size selected before buying

Typically £65–£85

Check price on Amazon
07

BPS 3 Way Combination Ladder

BPS 3 Way Combination Ladder

Cheapest here — a light-duty spare, not a trade ladder

Worth including because it makes the certification point concrete: the listing states a 95kg weight rating and nothing else — no EN131 class, no GS mark, no test standard, on a page written in heavy marketing shorthand. At 8kg it isn’t badly built for what it is, and for stairs, a stepladder or an occasional extension job well within that 95kg limit it will do the job. Compare that against the 150kg professional benchmark every other ladder here states, and buy it with that difference in mind.

For

  • Cheapest combination ladder in this guide
  • Fine for light stairs, step or extension use within its rating

Against

  • 95kg rating, well below the 150kg professional benchmark
  • No EN131 or other test standard stated anywhere on the listing

Typically £70–£90

Check price on Amazon

What actually matters — and what doesn’t

The ‘X in 1’ number is marketing, not a spec. Read what each configuration actually is before comparing counts. A genuine freestanding extension mode or a stairwell platform adds real capability; a stepladder mode and an “A-frame” mode that are the same shape described twice does not. The comparison table above lists what each ladder can actually do, not the number printed on the box.

The stairwell mode is the actual reason to buy this category. If you never need to stand a ladder on a staircase, a dedicated telescopic ladder for reach and a dedicated step ladder for quick indoor jobs will each be lighter, more rigid and cheaper than a combination ladder trying to do both. Buy the combination ladder specifically because you need the stairwell capability, not as a default “does everything” purchase.

More hinges is a genuine trade-off, not just caution for its own sake. Every extra configuration is another locking pin that has to fully engage before you climb. Check every lock on every section before use, every time, regardless of how many times you’ve set the ladder up before — the failure mode is a section that looks locked but isn’t, not a dramatic structural fault.

A stated kg rating with no test standard behind it is not the same thing as EN131. The BPS ladder above states 95kg and nothing else. That isn’t dishonest — it’s exactly the information you need, provided you read it rather than assume every “3 way combination ladder” listing means the same 150kg professional-grade product.

Questions I get asked

Is a combination ladder as good as buying a separate telescopic ladder and step ladder?

For most jobs, no — each dedicated ladder will be lighter and more rigid for its specific task than a combination ladder trying to cover both. The combination ladder earns its place for one specific reason: the stairwell mode, which neither a telescopic ladder nor a standard step ladder can do safely. If you never work on a staircase, the telescopic ladder and step ladder guides will likely serve you better and cheaper.

What do the ‘3 in 1’, ‘4 in 1’ and ‘5 in 1’ numbers actually mean?

In principle, the number of genuinely different shapes the ladder configures into: stepladder, extension and stairwell is the standard three. A fourth mode usually adds a freestanding extension configuration for jobs with nothing to lean against; a fifth typically adds a working platform. Check what the extra number actually adds rather than assuming more is simply better — some sellers count minor variations of the same mode separately to inflate the figure.

Are combination ladders safe to use on stairs?

Yes, when the stairwell mode is used as designed: the adjustable leg mechanism levels the ladder across the step, both feet are fully engaged and locked, and stability is checked before climbing exactly as with any other configuration. The Work at Height Regulations 2005 apply as they do to any ladder — suitable equipment, properly maintained, checked before use. What makes stairwell use specifically risky is skipping that check because the ladder “looks” set up correctly; with several locking points, that assumption is exactly what to avoid.

Why do two ladders in this guide have identical specifications?

Because they are, as far as the published data goes, the same physical ladder. Werner owns the Abru brand in the UK, both are manufactured by WernerCo, and the Werner 7101318 and Abru 2101318 above publish identical working heights and share the same product photography — the same factory tooling sold under two brand names at two price points. Worth a quick specification check before paying the premium for the better-known badge.


A ladder gets you to the job; what you find once you’re there is the actual survey. The practice carries out building surveys across Sussex, Kent and Surrey — get in touch. For dedicated reach and quick indoor access, see the telescopic ladder and step ladder guides, and there are more field-kit guides if you’re kitting out the rest of the van.

Disclaimer. This guide is general information, not a substitute for the manufacturer’s instructions or a proper work-at-height risk assessment for your circumstances. Prices are indicative, move constantly and were checked at the time of writing; the linked page always shows the current price. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.